Mark I. Harrison Excellence in Mentorship Award

Created in December 2021, the Mark I. Harrison Excellence in Mentorship Award is presented to a legal professional who has devoted extraordinary energy and sustained attention to mentoring others in the legal community, who has avidly promoted the development and careers of individuals from diverse and historically underrepresented groups in the legal profession, and who has inspired and fostered engagement of others in activities that reflect the highest ethics and ideals of the legal profession, such as significant pro bono, public and community service.

2024 Recipient

Debbie Weecks’ law school highlights include that she was an author and associate editor on law review, a competitor and Executive Board Member of the moot court, and recipient of the Outstanding Moot Court Award and the Outstanding Legal Scholarship Award.

For many years since, Ms. Weecks maintains a home office offering limited scope and also traditional representation in varieties of areas, volunteers as a mentor, and served as a judge pro tempore in municipal courts for twenty years. Ms. Weecks is Co-Chair of Programming for MCAFM (Maricopa County Association of Family Mediators) and a Board member. She also presents to lay and professional audience upon request, on myriad law and law practice topics including providing newsletters for various audiences.

Past activities have included:

  • Co-founder of the West Valley Professionals’ Roundtable;
  • Published author in the Arizona Attorney Magazine;
  • Quarterly classes taught for five years in the courtroom at and for the Luke AFB 56th Fighter Wing JAGC Corps; and
  • Chair of the Sole Practitioner/Small Firms section (receiving an Outstanding Leadership Award by the SPSF State Bar’s Executive Council in 2007) and other posts.


2022 Cynthia L. Choate
2023 Hon. (ret.) Mina Méndez
2024 Debbie Weecks
This page is managed by Carrie Sherman