Mandatory Professionalism Course
Read the Supreme Court of the State of Arizona, Administrative Order No. 2020-51, a response to the current COVID-19 pandemic and the court's response to the Mandatory Professionalism Course.
Newly admitted members are required to attend the State Bar's professionalism course within the first year of admission or registration, unless exempted (Rule 34(n) Ariz. R. Sup. Ct.).
A new member taking Inactive status immediately upon admission is exempt from completing the course but shall complete the course within 12 months of becoming an Active member of the State Bar.
A new member who is an Active member but does not reside in Arizona, and does not practice Arizona law is exempt from completing the course but shall complete the course within 12 months of becoming a resident of Arizona, or commencing the practice of Arizona law, even if residing out of state.
The Professionalism Course is a one-time requirement. It is a live event and 4.25 hours in duration. It is not available online, and no other course substitutes for this program. The course is offered five to six times each year - usually four in Phoenix and two in Tucson. The CLE credits earned (4.25 total hours, all of which are professional responsibility) may be claimed on the MCLE affidavit in the applicable educational year.
The Bar maintains the compliance records regarding this program, and is required to report non-compliant members to the Court, which may result in summary suspension.
Find and Register for an Upcoming Professionalism Course
- Go directly to a Filtered Search of Upcoming Professionalism Courses or you can Search the AZCLE Programs Calendar;
- Locate and select the Professionalism course you would prefer to attend;
- From the menu on the right, select "Add to Cart" and choose the registration rate that applies;
- Sign in or create a profile and complete the registration process.