Michael C. Cudahy Criminal Justice Award

Established in March 2006, this award recognizes that criminal law prosecutor who has worked tirelessly to advance the principles of criminal justice by representing the public’s interest with integrity, fairness, tenacity, creativity, brilliance and, above all, professionalism.

2024 Recipient

Bill Ring has spent 24 years with the Coconino County Attorney's Office, being elected County Attorney in 2016. He teaches and publishes on ethics and effective public service throughout the United States. He is admitted to the Supreme Court of the United States, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, the District Court of Arizona, and Arizona state courts.
Mr. Ring is a Board Member of the National District Attorneys Association, [Wash. D.C.]; a Delegate to the House of Delegates of the American Bar Association; and Chairperson of the Arizona Prosecuting Attorneys Advisory Council (APAAC). He is President of the Arizona County Attorneys and Sheriff’s Association. He is a Scholar at the Institute for Innovation in Prosecution [New York, N.Y.], and a Fellow of the Flinn-Brown Civic Leadership Academy [Phoenix, Arizona].

Mr. Ring has B.A. and MS. Ed. degrees from the University of Rochester and is a graduate of the University of Arizona’s Rogers College of Law. He recently convened and completed a statewide planning Symposium on Arizona Criminal Justice Services for the year 2050. He also recently secured a $2.1 million dollar grant to study the intersectionality of criminogenic behavior and public health in his county of Coconino.

Previous Recipients

The award has been presented to:

2006     Rick A. Unklesbay
2007 Paul K. Charlton
2008 Daniel G. Knauss
Kathleen A. Mayer
2009 Barbara LaWall
2010 Sandra M. Hansen
2011 Beth A. Anderson
2012 Sheila Polk
2013 Hon. Randall M. Howe
Hon. Kent Cattani
2014 Theodore Campagnolo  
2015 Kellie L. Johnson
2016 James Alan Goodwin
2017 Hon. John S. Leonardo
2018 Kimberly H. Ortiz
2019 Ryan P. Green
2020 Bill R. Hughes
2021 Kent Volkmer
2022 Elizabeth Burton Ortiz
2023 Bradley W. Carlyon
2024 William P. Ring
This page is managed by Carrie Sherman