Member of the Year Award

Established in May 1991, this award is presented to that attorney(s) who has rendered extraordinary contributions to the programs and activities of the State Bar in the prior year. Hundreds, even thousands, of the Bar's members contribute their time and talent to the work of the Bar, but this award is limited to that individual(s) whose contributions are exceptional.

2024 Recipient

Regina L. Nassen has been a Principal Assistant City Attorney in the Tucson City Attorney’s Office since August 2021 after almost 18 years as a Deputy County Attorney in the Civil Division of the Pima County Attorney’s Office (“PCAO”). While at PCAO Regina also served as the Supervising Attorney of the Civil Division’s Business & Transactions Unit and as PCAO’s Chief Ethics Counsel. Prior to becoming a government lawyer, she was in private practice as an Associate with Snell & Wilmer from 1993 to 2000.

Regina is currently a member of the Arizona Commission on Judicial Conduct and previously served on the Arizona Supreme Court’s Ethics Advisory Committee, 2019 through 2023. She is a member of the ABA’s Center for Professional Responsibility CLE Committee, a fellow of the American Bar Foundation, and a member of the governing council of the ABA’s Government & Public Sector Lawyers Division. She is also a past Chair of the State Bar of Arizona’s Public Lawyers Section and the recipient of the Section’s 2015 Distinguished Public Lawyer Award.

Regina graduated summa cum laude from the University of Arizona College of Law in 1992, after which she clerked for Justice Frederick Martone on the Arizona Supreme Court before entering private practice.

Previous Recipients

The award has been presented to:

1991     Ed Hendricks
William R. Jones, Jr.
Tom Karas
Daniel J. McAuliffe
Thomas A. Zlaket
1992 Larry W. Suciu
1993 Roxana C. Bacon
1994 Kenneth J. Sherk
1995 Crane McClennen
Robert E. Schmitt
1996 Diane L. Drain
1997 Charles T. Stevens
1998 Michael R. Murphy
1999 Denise M. Blommel
Mary Mangotich Grier
John E. Lundin
2000 Andrew R. Sherwood
2001 Robert W. Browder
2002 Craig Mehrens
Ted A. Schmidt
2003 Hon. Michael Owen Miller
Steven A. Hirsch
2004 Sarah R. Simmons
Aaron Kizer
2005 Michael V. Mulchay
Ronald W. Messerly
2006 Jeffrey H. Jacobson
2007 Lynda C. Shely
2008 Jeffrey A. Hursh
2009 Daniel J. McAuliffe
2010 J. Scott Rhodes
Jeffrey Messing
2011 James E. McDougall
2012 Todd F. Lang
2013 William G. Klain
2014 Amelia Craig Cramer
2015 George C. Chen
2016 Jodi Knobel Feuerhelm
Andrew Jacobs
Brian J. Pollack
2017 Jo Ellen McBride
2018 Paul F. Eckstein
2019 Hon. Patricia K. Norris (ret.)
2020 Gregory R. Gautam
2021 Mark I. Harrison
2022 David D. Dodge
2023 Steven M. Guttell
2024 Regina L. Nassen
This page is managed by Carrie Sherman