Contact: Alberto Rodriguez
Phone: 602.340.7337

State Bar of Arizona Announces 2016 Award Winners

PHOENIX – May 24, 2016 – The State Bar of Arizona will recognize 13 individuals and one legal program for their contributions to the legal profession at the 2016 State Bar of Arizona Annual Convention at the Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass in Chandler, June 15-17.

Award of Appreciation
2016 Recipient:           Christine Iijima Hall, Ph.D.

Award of Special Merit
2016 Recipient:           Gary M. Kula

Diversity and Inclusion Leadership Award
2016 Recipient:           Indian Legal Program, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law

Hon. John R. Sticht Excellence in Disabilities Accessibility Award
2016 Recipient:           Edward L. Myers, III

James A. Walsh Outstanding Jurist Award
2016 Recipient:           Hon. Andrew Klein

Member of the Year Award
2016 Recipients:         Jodi Knobel Feuerhelm
                                       Andrew Jacobs
                                       Brian J. Pollock                                  

Michael C. Cudahy Criminal Justice Award
2016 Recipient:           James Alan Goodwin

Outstanding In-House Counsel of the Year Award
2016 Recipient:           Nima Jacobs Kelly

Sharon A. Fullmer Legal Aid Attorney of the Year Award
2016 Recipient:           Stanley Silas

Tom Karas Criminal Justice Award
2016 Recipient:           John M. Sears

The only award presented at convention that is not decided by the Board of Governors is the President's Award. The president chooses someone who has made significant contributions to the Arizona legal community. This year, two recipients will receive this recognition.

President's Award
2016 Recipients:         Alex H. Lane
                                       Thomas M. Ryan

For a complete list of 2016 award descriptions and recipient bios visit:

If you require additional information about the awards contact Nina Benham via email at or 602.340.7329.

About the Board of Governors

The State Bar of Arizona Board of Governors oversees the policy making and operation of the organization. The Board is comprised of 30 people: four non-attorney, public members appointed by the Board; three at-large members appointed by the Arizona Supreme Court; 19 attorney members elected by fellow Bar members in their district; and four ex-officio members (immediate past president and the deans of Arizona's three law schools). The Board meets a minimum of nine times each year.

About the State Bar
The State Bar of Arizona is a non-profit organization that operates under the supervision of the Arizona Supreme Court. The Bar includes approximately 23,500 attorneys and provides education and development programs for the legal profession and the public. Since 1933 the Bar and its members have been committed to serving the public by making sure the voices of all people in Arizona are heard in our justice system.

# # #

Copyright ©2004-2018 State Bar of Arizona