Appointments Committee

State Bar of Arizona

April 13, 2022 2:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. ZOOM

Open Session Minutes

MEMBER ATTENDANCE:

V = present virtually; A = absent.

| Benjamin Taylor, Chair | V | Marla Hudgens | A |
|------------------------|---|----------------|---|
| Caroline Allen | V | Adrienne Jones | V |
| Casey Arellano | V | Kim Miles | V |
| Alison Crane | A | Judy O'Neill | V |
| Stephanie Ehrbright | V | Amanda Parker | V |
| Hon. Alison Ferrante | A | Tim Sparling | V |
| Alexis Firehawk | A | Georgia Staton | V |
| Juan Flamand | V | Javier Torres | A |

OTHER ATTENDEES:

Guests: None

State Bar Staff: Carrie Sherman

Minutes taken by: Carrie Sherman

I. CALL TO ORDER

Called to Order by: Benjamin Taylor, Chair

Time: 2:30 p.m.

II. Board of Governors

<u>Public Member – one position</u>

The Committee interviewed the three candidates for the public member position on the Board of Governors. Following the interviews and the due diligence reports, Committee members voted to rank the three candidates and submit that ranking to the Board. The Governors submit nominations to the Arizona Supreme Court which makes the final appointment.

Mr. Cedric Dave, Retired Corporate Executive

Ms. Teresa Welborn, Retired Non-profit and Government Sectors

Mr. Mike Baumstark, Retired, Government Sector

III. Board of Legal Specialization

Certified Specialists - two positions

Following the due diligence reports of the four applicants, Committee members voted for their top two candidates, and voted to submit the candidates as ranked to the Board of Governors. The Governors submit nominations to the Arizona Supreme Court which makes the final appointments.

Ms. Wendi Sorensen, Burch & Cracchiolo PA (incumbent)

Mr. Stephen Weiss, Law Office of Stephen L. Weiss

Ms. Stephanie Ireland, Gannon & Associates Allstate Insurance Co.

Mr. James Cross, Cross Law Firm PLC (incumbent)

Non-Specialists – one position

Following the due diligence reports of the four applicants, Committee members voted for their top candidate, and voted to submit the candidates as ranked to the Board of Governors. The Governors submit nominations to the Arizona Supreme Court which makes the final appointments.

Mr. DeVaughn Robinson, The Robinson Law Firm PLLC

Ms. Cynthia Braun, Bailey Law Firm

Mr. Michael Goldberg, Goldberg Law Group (incumbent)

Public Members - one position

The two applicants had also applied for the public member position on the Board of Governors and the Committee had interviewed them earlier in the meeting for that position. The Committee members voted for their top candidate and voted to submit the candidates as ranked to the Board of Governors. The Governors submit nominations to the Arizona Supreme Court which makes the final appointments.

Mr. Cedric Dave, Retired Corporate Executive

Ms. Teresa Welborn, Retired Non-profit and Government Sectors

ABA-Accredited Law School Representative – one position

No applications were received. Recruitment will continue.

IV. Adjournment: 4:30 p.m.