Appointments Committee

State Bar of Arizona

September 13, 2022 2:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. ZOOM

Open Session Minutes

MEMBER ATTENDANCE:

V = present virtually; A = absent.

Ted Schmidt, Chair	V	Kathryn Krejci	V
Caroline Allen	V	Kim Miles	V
Casey Arellano	V	Judy O'Neill	V
Chad Beckett	V	Tim Sparling	V
Stephanie Ehrbright	V	Georgia Staton	V
Alexis Firehawk	V		

OTHER ATTENDEES:

Guests: Aaron Nash, Director, Certification and Licensing Division, Arizona Supreme Court; Mariann Nystrom, Attorney Admissions Manager, Certification and Licensing Division, Arizona Supreme Court; Edward Novak, Chair, Arizona Supreme Court Committee on Character and Fitness

State Bar Staff: Carrie Sherman

Minutes taken by: Carrie Sherman

I. CALL TO ORDER

Called to Order by: Ted Schmidt, Chair

Time: 2:31 p.m.

II. Call to the Public

Other than the invited guests listed above, there were no other members of the public present.

III. Minutes

Stephanie Ehrbright moved, Chad Beckett seconded and the motion to approve the minutes of the August 30, 2022, Committee meeting carried unanimously.

IV. Committee on Character and Fitness – Public Members

There are four openings; three nominations per opening are requested. The Committee conducted interviews of the two individuals who had applied.

The Committee agreed that both candidates were qualified but agreed to rank their top candidate. The Committee then voted to recommend the following to the Board of Governors for its consideration in determining its nominations to the Court:

Dr. Edward James – 10 votes Ms. Regina Ponder – 0 votes

The Committee was aware that due to the lack of applications, the Board and/or the Court may request that the Committee reopen and re-advertise the public member positions.

V. Committee on Character and Fitness – Lawyer Member

There is one opening; three nominations per opening are requested. The Committee reviewed the five candidates who had applied. The Committee then agreed to rank the candidates:

Ms. Kate VanderBaan - 9 votes Hon. Irene Feldman - 8 votes Ms. Julia Alexa Rogers - 6 votes Mr. Ross Mumme - 3 votes Ms. RoseMarie Horvath 2 votes

The Committee voted to submit the three top vote getters to the Board of Governors for its consideration in determining its nominations to the Court.

VI. Committee on Examinations – Lawyer Member

There is one opening; three nominations per opening are requested. The Committee reviewed the four candidates who had applied. The Committee then agreed to rank the candidates:

Hon. Irene Feldman - 9 votes Ms. Kate VanderBaan - 9 votes Ms. RoseMarie Horvath 8 votes Mr. Edward Scibilia - 2 votes

The Committee voted to submit the three top vote getters to the Board of Governors for its consideration in determining its nominations to the Court.

VII. Adjournment: 3:23 p.m.