2023 Award Winner Announcement

It is with great pride that the State Bar of Arizona Juvenile Law Section announces the 2023 Terry L. Chandler and James Waite Mahoney Award winners, William Owsley and John Foley.

Each year since 1998, the Juvenile Law Section gives an Award for Excellence in the Field of Juvenile Law to a deserving recipient. This award, named in honor of Terry L. Chandler, the instigator and first Chair of the State Bar of Arizona Juvenile Law Section.

This year the Terry L. Chandler award winner is the very deserving William Owsley. Bill has made a significant contribution to the field of juvenile law for the past 28 years. He has been an ever-present advocate on the issue of standards for children's attorneys/GALs for the past 20 years. He was instrumental in the drafting and passage of the initial bill on the issue of children's standards/responsibilities in the State of Arizona. He was then subsequently appointed by AZ Supreme Court to the Rules Committee for drafting of current Rule 40.1, RPJC (Standards for Children's Representatives). He was also later appointed to the Rules Committee to draft Rule 40.2, RPJC (Standards for Parent's Attorneys).

Most recently, he was instrumental in drafting and passage of recent SB1391 regarding the mandatory appointment of attorneys for children statewide, including the provision of legislative testimony. As an appointed member of the AZ Supreme Court's Juvenile Rules Taskforce for the past 2 years, he was also responsible for drafting all of the adopted language pertaining to the role of children's attorneys and GALs in the newly approved Rules of Procedure for the Juvenile Court effective 7/1/22.

For those of you that have had the pleasure of working with Bill, he embodies excellence in the practice of Juvenile Law. Lon is and continues to be a wonderful advocate and resource for Arizona Juvenile Law.

James "Jim" Waite Mahoney was one of the founders of the Juvenile Law Section of the State Bar of Arizona and a very active member until his retirement. He served as a Chairperson of the Section, was a frequent contributor to the Section's newsletter, *The Juvenile Clarion*, and worked tirelessly to increase membership and "spread the word" among practitioners in the field of Juvenile Law about the section.

Jim Mahoney passed away on February 2, 2007, before he was able to accept the inaugural James Waite Mahoney Award for Meritorious Service to the Juvenile Law Section. The Award was presented to him posthumously at the Bar Convention on June 29, 2007.

This award is presented annually to a member in good standing of the Juvenile Law Section who has distinguished him or herself by meritorious service to the Section.

This year the James Waite Mahoney Memorial Award of Meritorious Service to the Juvenile Law Section award winner is the very deserving John Foley.

John is the current Chair of the Juvenile Law Section, and it is fair to say that without his leadership this year, the Juvenile Law Section may not have continued or, at least, it would not have maintained its legacy of excellence. John was the man standing in the gap for the Juvenile Law Section this year. John's dedication to children and to juvenile justice is steadfast.

We have all had the pleasure of John's knowledge and dedication to Arizona Juvenile Law, experiencing his many contributions to our section. We look forward to his continued participation and contributions to our section.

Both William and John will receive a formal award's presentation during the 2023 State Bar of Arizona convention. But, for now, we wanted to announce and honor their accomplishments and contributions in Juvenile Law.