Workers' Compensation Advisory Commission


The Board of Legal Specialization (BLS), pursuant to Rule 44, Ariz. R. Sup. Ct., regulates the certification of legal specialists in eight practice areas: Bankruptcy, Criminal Law, Estate and Trust, Family Law, Personal Injury and Wrongful Death, Real Estate, Tax, and Workers’ Compensation.

Advisory Commissions:  Each area of specialization has an Advisory Commission to actively administer the program in its particular field, under the policy guidance of the BLS.

Advisory Commission Composition: This commission shall be composed of ten attorneys selected from among attorneys practicing/teaching in the field of Workers’ Compensation law and shall include at least one Industrial Commission Administrative Law Judge who is a member of the State Bar and eight attorneys selected in a manner so as to give the commission a balanced representation of practitioners from the various fields of workers’ compensation law.


  • Review/investigate applications for initial certification or recertification.
  • Convene and preside over Request for Reconsideration hearings.
  • Report recommendations for initial certification or recertification to the Board of Legal Specialization.

Time Commitment:  Advisory Commission’s meet three (3) to six (6) times per year.  The length of the meetings may vary, but typically last 30 to 60 minutes.

Apply Now

For more information contact:

Deanna Commack
4201 N. 24th Street, Suite 100
Phoenix, AZ 85016-6266

Copyright ©2004-2019 State Bar of Arizona