Tang Writing Competition

The CMWL established the Judge Thomas Tang Writing Competition to highlight the importance of a diverse legal profession.  The competition is open to law students currently enrolled in any of Arizona's three law schools.  The competition is named after the late Honorable Thomas Tang, who served on the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, in recognition of and to honor his special achievements and interest in diversifying the legal profession.

Prizes: $1000 for first place essay, $500 for second place essay.  Winners are announced at the annual Diversity and Inclusion Convention.

2018 Winners

First Place                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Nancy Craig                                                                                                                                                                                Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law, Arizona State University

Second Place                                                                                                                                                                              Angelika Doebler                                                                                                                                                                           Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law,  Arizona State University   

Read Question and Winning Essays                                                                                     

Previous Questions and Winning Essays                                                                                                                       

2016 -Read Question and Winning Essays 

2015 - Read Question and Winning Essays   

2014 -Question; 1st Place Essay; 2nd Place Essay

2013 - Question; 1st Place Essay; 2nd Place Essay


Chairs: Sharon Ng, Karen Hartman-Tellez

Copyright ©2004-2019 State Bar of Arizona