Member of the Year Award

Established in 1996, the Member of the Year Award, is presented by the Board of Governors to an attorney who has rendered extraordinary contributions to the programs and activities of the State Bar in the prior year.  Hundreds, even thousands, of the Bar's members contribute their time and talent to the work of the Bar, but this award is limited to an individual whose contributions are exceptional.  

2019 Recipient

Special Merit

Patricia K. Norris served on the Arizona Court of Appeals (Division One) from 2003 to 2017. Before joining the court, Judge Norris was a partner at Lewis and Roca, Phoenix. Judge Norris is now supervising lawyer training and development at the ASU Law Group, a teaching law firm.

Judge Norris has taught as an adjunct professor at the ASU College of Law, published articles on civil litigation, and co-edited the Arizona Attorneys’ Fees Manual (all editions).  She is a frequent lecturer at legal and judicial education programs. Judge Norris is the Chair of the State Bar’s Senior Lawyer Task Force, a member of the Supreme Court’s Task Force revising the Rules of Probate Procedure, and a hearing panel member and settlement officer for the Office of the Presiding Disciplinary Judge. Judge Norris is Chair-Elect of Arizona Town Hall.

Judge Norris has been honored by the Arizona Women Lawyers Association, the Maricopa County Bar Association, and the Arizona Association for Justice for her contributions to the legal profession and the judiciary. In 2017, the State Bar awarded Judge Norris the James A. Walsh Outstanding Jurist Award. In 2018, the ASU College of Law selected her as its Outstanding Alumna.





Previous Recipients

The award has been presented to:

1991     Ed Hendricks
William R. Jones, Jr.
Tom Karas
Daniel J. McAuliffe
Thomas A. Zlaket
1992 Larry W. Suciu
1993 Roxana C. Bacon
1994 Kenneth J. Sherk
1995 Crane McClennen
Robert E. Schmitt
1996 Diane L. Drain
1997 Charles T. Stevens
1998 Michael R. Murphy
1999 Denise M. Blommel
Mary Mangotich Grier
John E. Lundin
2000 Andrew R. Sherwood
2001 Robert W. Browder
2002 Craig Mehrens
Ted A. Schmidt
2003 Hon. Michael Owen Miller
Steven A. Hirsch
2004 Sarah R. Simmons
Aaron Kizer
2005 Michael V. Mulchay
Ronald W. Messerly
2006 Jeffrey H. Jacobson
2007 Lynda C. Shely
2008 Jeffrey A. Hursh
2009 Daniel J. McAuliffe
2010 J. Scott Rhodes
Jeffrey Messing
2011 James E. McDougall
2012 Todd F. Lang
2013 William G. Klain
2014 Amelia Craig Cramer
2015 George C. Chen
2016 Jodi Knobel Feuerhelm
Andrew Jacobs
Brian J. Pollack
2017 Jo Ellen McBride
2018 Paul F. Eckstein
2019 Hon. Patricia K. Norris (ret.)

Copyright ©2004-2020 State Bar of Arizona