Award of Special Merit

Established in 1988, the Award of Special Merit is  presented by the Board of Governors to members of the State Bar of Arizona who have made significant contributions to the furtherance of public understanding of the legal system, the administration of justice,  and confidence in the legal profession.   

2019 Recipient

Special Merit

Judge Dan Slayton was elected to Division Two, Coconino County Superior Court in November 2010.  Prior to his election he served for five years as the appointed pro tem, full-time Superior Court Judge for Division Five. He began his time on the bench in October 1999, when he was appointed by Judge H. Jeffrey Coker to serve as the full-time Justice of the Peace pro tem for Flagstaff Justice Court and part-time superior court judge.  He is the current chair for the Coconino County Criminal Justice Coordinating Council, is a rural court representative on the Arizona Judges Association, and committee member on the Committee On Probation Education.  He is a past co-recipient of the Chief Justice’s Award for Achievement.
Prior to attending law school, Judge Slayton worked for the Arizona Department of Corrections-Adobe Mountain and the Maricopa County Adult Probation Department. After law school, he was a prosecutor with the Coconino County Attorney’s office for five years.  He holds a B.S. in Sociology from Northern Arizona University, M.S. in Justice Studies from Arizona State University, and a J.D from Seattle University School of Law.  He is a fourth-generation native of Flagstaff.


Prior Recipients

The award has been presented to:

1988     Hon. Frank X. Gordon, Jr
1989 Not awarded
1990 Hon. L. Ray Haire
1991 Prof. Charles M. Smith
Hon. Morris K. Udall
1992 Not awarded
1993 Mark I. Harrison
Charles T. Stevens
1994 Hon. Nikki A. Chayet
Patricia A. Sallen
John M. Schlosser
1995 E. Calvin Fuchs II
Duke Nordlinger Stern
1996 Christopher Johns
1997 Michael M. Grant
1998 Not awarded
1999 Hon. Norman S. Fenton
2000 Sen. Marc L. Spitzer
Hon. Thomas A. Zlaket
2001 Timothy M. Hogan
Norman L. Miller
2002 Daniel Cracchiolo
2003 Walter Cheifetz
2004 Hon. Edward E. Davis (posthumously)
2005 Frances L. Johansen
2006 Anthony W. Clark
Susan R. Agrillo
Norma L. Classen
2007 Theodore Campagnolo
Hon. Gary E. Donahoe
2008 Larry C. McVey
Sidney T. Marable (posthumously)
2009 John W. Rogers
2010 Gary R. Stickell
Alex E. Navidad
2011 Hon. Daniel A. Barker
James W. Richardson
2012 Hon. Ann A. Scott Timmer
Stephen Weiss
2013 Mark E. Meltzer
2014 William W. Owsley
2015 David B. Rosenbaum
2016 Gary M. Kula
2017 Robert L. Gottsfield
2018 Hon. Michael P. Pollard
2019 Hon. Dan R. Slayton

Copyright ©2004-2020 State Bar of Arizona