Award of Appreciation

Established in 1989, the Award of Appreciation is  presented by the Board of Governors to that individual(s) who is not a member of the Bar in recognition of outstanding service toward the creation of a better public understanding of the legal profession and the administration of justice, the judiciary or the legislative process.

2019 Recipient

Coconino County BOS (1)

The Coconino County Board of Supervisors has been part of the vanguard in the State of Arizona for securing and increasing the public trust and confidence in the judiciary. This past November, Coconino County became the first rural county in Arizona to voluntarily change from a partisan-popular election of superior court judges to a merit selection-judicial retention election. The Board highlighted and led the effort to allow the citizens of Coconino County to retain their judges without regard to partisan designation and to select their judges based on merit through a representative commission reflecting the diversity of Coconino County. This adds to work the Board has done to support and fund the Integrated Family Court Program, Recovery Court, the Criminal Justice Coordinating Council, Parent Education Classes, create Pro-Temp Divisions, and invest in Case-flow Management.  The members of the Coconino County Board of Supervisors are Jim Parks, Lena Fowler, Art Babbott, Elizabeth Archuleta, and Matt Ryan.



Previous Recipients: 

The award has been presented to:

1989     Hon. Rose Mofford
Hon. Barry Goldwater
1990 Sal Quijada
Paul Urbano King
1991 Prof. Paul Bender
Amelia D. Lewis
1992 Hon. Tom Tso
1993 Ken Campbell
1994 Patricia J. Horgan
Karen E. Osborn
Ronald S. Watson
1995 Bruce Hernandez
1996 Paul Rubin
1997 Karen Duffy
Art Rotstein
Joan Tobin
1998 Regina Skouson
1999 Dr. Janet Brown
2000 Maria Hoffman
2001 Helen Cahill
2002 Bill Scott
2003 Donald W. Carson
Myles V. Lynk
2004 Carrie L. Sherman
2005 Emily R. Johnston
2006 Dr. Pearl Tang
2007 Matthew Silverman
2008 Larry C. McVey
Marvin E. Perry
2009 Bennie C. Click
2010 Susan Armstrong
2011 David K. Byers
2012 Alex Jamison
Karen Osborne
2013 William D. Carnegie
2014 John J. Sullivan
2016 Christine C. Iijima Hall
2017 Meredith Peabody
2018 Judith Register
2019 Coconino County Board of Supervisors

Copyright ©2004-2020 State Bar of Arizona