Certified Specialists

What Is a Certified Specialist?

Arizona allows attorneys who have proven experience in a particular area of law to achieve the status of specialist.

A member must meet the following minimum standards for specialization:

  • Admission to the practice of law for 5 years (7 for Criminal Law and Real Estate Law)
  • Admission to the State Bar of Arizona for 2 years immediately preceding submission of the application (3 years for Real Estate)
  • Devotion of at least 50% of a full-time practice to the specialty area (70% for Family Law)
  • Substantial involvement in the certification area for 4 of the 6 years immediately preceding submission of the application (5 or 7 years for Real Estate)
  • Additionally, peer review is conducted and a written examination must be passed.

Find a Certified Specialist

To find an attorney in any one of the eight areas of specialization, (Bankruptcy, Criminal, Estate and Trust, Family, Personal Injury and Wrongful Death, Real Estate, Tax or Workers' Compensation Law,) use the "Advanced Search" tab under Find a Lawyer, or click the link below to use the drop down menu from the "Most Common Search Fields" screen at /FindALawyer 


Standards for Certification

Use the following links to learn more about the Standards for Certification for each of the eight areas of law.

Bankruptcy Injury & Wrongful Death Litigation
Criminal Real Estate
Estate and Trust                                                                  Tax
Family Law Workers' Compensation


Copyright ©2004-2020 State Bar of Arizona