2013 Trial College Graduates 34

The 2013 Arizona College of Trial Advocacy wrapped up its ninth consecutive year on Saturday, August 4, adding 34 graduates to its roll. The emphasis of the College is on the student's preparation and presentation of a civil case, from the beginning of the trial to the closing argument. The first four days included small group presentations and exercises on direct and cross examinations, opening and closing statements, and voir dire. The College concluded with a mock trial in Superior Court.

Congratulations to the Class of 2013!

Claudia Acosta Collings - Office of the Attorney General     Cassandra Meynard - Mesch Clark & Rothschild
Scott Bennett - Coppersmith Schermer & Brockleman Kevin Nelson - Tiffany & Bosco
D. Bob Burris - Monroe McDonough Goldschmidt Justin V. Niedzialek - May Potenza Baran & Gillespie
Michael Coccaro - Snell & Wilmer LLP Laura L. Orozco -  Campbell Yost Clare & Norell
Sandra Gardner - Esser, Bradley & Gardner John Perry - Law Office of John E. Perry
Jeffrey D. Gautreaux - Musgrove Drutz & Kack Richard Rahnema - Wachtel Biehn & Malm
Gregg Clarke Gibbons - Gregg Clarke Gibbons PC Jill L. Ripke - Perkins Coie
Robert J. Gunn - Gunn & Gunn Dennis Robbins - Davis Miles McGuire Gardner
Christine A. Hammerle - Perkins Coie Michelle Saavedra - Tucson City Attorneys Office
Gerardo Hannel - La Paloma Law Anna Schiffman - Schiffman Law Office PC
Michael Harnden - Law Office of Barry Rorex Tanveer Shah - Price Law Group
Jonathan Jamieson - Law Office of Michael Cordova Monique Simpson - Thomas Thomas & Markson
Jenny D. Jansch - Garrison Law Firm Daniel Slavin - Law Offices of Francis Slavin
Todd Jarvis - Breen Olson & Trenton LLP Autumn Spritzer - Southern Arizona Legal Aid, Inc
Daniel King - Jones, Skelton & Hochuli Devin Sreecharana - May Potenza Baran & Gillespie
Krista R. McCarthy - Law Office of Berin A. Fite Geoffrey M. Trachtenberg - Levenbaum Trachtenberg
Jennika N. McKusick - Jeffrey G. Pollitt PC Ashley Villaverde - Jones, Skelton & Hochuli

Special thanks go to this year's faculty of experienced lawyers and judges: John P. Ager, Shawn Aiken, Marlene Appel, Will Auther, Jeffrey Bergin, Christopher Browning, Terry Bublik, Thomas Burke, Larry Cohen, Susan Corey, Joel D. DeCiancio, John DiCaro, Liz Gilbert, Jill goldsmith, Todd Jackson, Mark W. Kennedy, Greg Osborne, Rosemarie Pena-Lynch, Douglas L. Rayes, Joel Robbins, William Sandweg III, Georgia Staton, Catherine Stewart, Paul Tang, Timothy Thomason, Tim Tonkin, Wendy Weigand, Chas Wirken, and Russell Yurk!

What did the participants have to say about the College?

    • It has given me a realistic understanding of what I need to communicate to my clients from the moment I begin my representation.
    • I came in with no trial experience and didn't even know where to stand. I feel much more comfortable now.
    • Wonderful to hear so many perspectives on best practices
    • I practice in another state but the principles, tools and process of the College apply universally.
    • I learned techniques that would not have occurred to me if not brought up by the faculty.
    • This College was so helpful!
    • Excellent soup to nuts how-tos, how-not-to and constructive criticism.
    • It was excellent - life changing
    • Awesome


The 2014 College runs from August 5 through August 9. Make plans now to attend.

If you have any questions, please contact the program executive director, Hon. Rebecca Albrecht at Rebecca.Albrecht@azbar.org.