CMWL Award

The Committee on Minorities and Women in the Law presents the CMWL Award at the State Bar Annual Convention to an attorney who meets the following criteria:

Individual has achieved professional excellence in his/her field AND

1. Influenced minorities and/or women to pursue legal careers OR
2. Opened doors for minority and/or women lawyers in a variety of job settings that historically were closed to them OR
3. Advanced opportunities for minority and/or women lawyers within a practice area or segment of the profession OR
4.  Advanced and initiative or project on behalf of or to promote minorities and women in the law. 

2013 Recipient

Guerra, MaryPROFESSOR MARY DOLORES GUERRA joined the Phoenix School of Law Faculty in 2006. She teaches Commercial Law, ADR, Business Associations, Interviewing and Counseling, and her newest class, Latinas, Latinos and the Law.

She has been instrumental in bringing to Phoenix School of Law two conferences: the Lawyers as Peacemakers and Healers Conference, which she chaired in 2012 and 2013, and the Southeast and Southwest People of Color Conference, which she chaired in 2009.

A UCLA School of Law graduate, Professor Guerra practiced law at Ekmark and Ekmark and as a civil litigator at Bowman and Brooke. Professor Guerra clerked for Hon. Jefferson L. Lankford at the Arizona Court of Appeals. She also clerked for Hon. Michael D. Ryan at the Arizona Court of Appeals, and during that year he was appointed to the Arizona Supreme Court.

Professor Guerra has served on legal and community organizations including the ABA Council for Racial & Ethnic Diversity in the Educational Pipeline, the Arizona State Bar Committee on Minorities and Women in the Law, the Arizona State Bar Committee on Legal Services, the State Bar Task Force on Diversity in the Legal Profession, Mujer, the Arizona State High School Renewal Initiative, and Chicanos Por La Causa. 

Previous Recipients

The award has been presented to:

2000     Marian M. Yim
2001 Jo Ellen McBride
2002 Hon. Michael D. Ryan
2003 Chris Brian Nakamura
2004 JoAnn P. Garcia
2005 Jenae R. Naumann
2006 Patricia A. Green
2007 Mari I. Valenzuela
2008 Lisa S.K. Loo
2009 Shelli Soto
2010 Prof. Charles R. Calleros
2011 Richard J. Gonzales
2012 Rodney Lewis