Contact: Rick DeBruhl, Chief Communications Officer
Phone: 602-340-7335, Mobile: 602-513-6385

State Bar Announces 2011 Board of Governors Election Results

PHOENIX - May 24, 2011 - Ten attorneys have been elected by members of the State Bar of Arizona to serve three-year terms on its Board of Governors. Eight were elected in Maricopa County, with one each in Yavapai and Pinal Counties.

Here are the election results:

District 2 (Yavapai County)
Alex B. Vakula

District 6 (Maricopa County)
Melissa S. Ho
Lisa S. Loo
Diane L. Drain
Sam Saks
Tom Crowe
Richard D. Coffinger
Geoffrey M. Trachtenberg
Jack Levine 

District 8 (Pinal County)
Richard T. Platt

At its June 14th meeting, the Board of Governors is expected to certify the election results.  

The State Bar of Arizona Board of Governors oversees the policy making and operation of the organization. The Board is comprised of 30 people: four non-attorney, public members appointed by the Board; three at-large members appointed by the Arizona Supreme Court; 19 attorney members elected by fellow Bar members in their district; and four ex-officio members (immediate past president and the deans of Arizona's three law schools). The Board meets a minimum of nine times each year.

The State Bar of Arizona serves the public and enhances the legal profession by promoting the competency, ethics and professionalism of its members and enhancing the administration of justice.

About the State Bar
The State Bar of Arizona is a non-profit organization that operates under the supervision of the Arizona Supreme Court.

# # #