Tom Karas Criminal Justice Award

The Tom Karas Criminal Justice Award is  presented by the Board of Governors to a criminal defense practitioner who during his or her career has worked tirelessly to advance the principles of criminal justice by representing clients or the public with integrity, fairness, tenacity, creativity, brilliance and above all professionalism.  The award was established in 2004, and the language was amended on March 17, 2006.

2015 Recipient

Henze, Tom

is an Arizona native, having been born in Phoenix as he likes to say, "when one of the Roosevelts was President." He graduated from the University of Arizona; B.A. 1968 and J.D. 1973. He was a prosecutor for the Maricopa County Attorney's Office (1973-1976). Thereafter he began his 40 year practice as a criminal defense lawyer.

He is recognized as a trial lawyer at heart who, over the course of his career, has handled many of the more publicly notable cases in Arizona.

Mr. Henze is a Fellow of the prestigious American College of Trial Lawyers, inducted in 2000. He was inducted into the Maricopa County Bar Association Hall of Fame in 2011. He is the recipient of The John J. Flynn Memorial Award presented by the Arizona Attorneys for Criminal Justice in 1996. He is listed in Martindale-Hubbell AV Preeminent Peer Review; The Best Lawyers in America®, Criminal Defense: Non-White Collar and White Collar, 1995-2015; Best Lawyers' Phoenix White-Collar: Criminal Defense Lawyer of the Year, 2010, 2015; Best Lawyers' Phoenix Criminal Defense: Non-White Collar Lawyer of the Year, 2012; Southwest Super Lawyers®, Criminal Law, 2007-2015.




Previous Recipients

The award has been presented to:

2004     Fredric F. Kay
2005 Robert J. Hirsh
2006 Donna Lee Elm
2007 Michael B. Scott (posthumously)
2008 Mark Budoff (posthumously)
Robert J. Hooker (posthumously)
2009 Bruce S. Griffen
2010 Michael D. Kimerer
2011 Michael L. Piccarreta
2012 Darrow K. Soll (posthumously)
2013 Larry A. Hammond
2014 Stanton Bloom