Sharon A. Fullmer Legal Aid
Attorney of the Year Award

The Board of Governors first presented this award in 1997. It is bestowed on a legal services lawyer in Arizona whose service to low-income people encompasses both aggressive advocacy on behalf of individuals in extreme need as well as impact advocacy designed to address systemic issues affecting significant numbers of low-income people.

2015 Recipient

Belous, Laura

was born and raised in the Phoenix area. She graduated from Oberlin College with a degree in history in 2004 and received her law degree from the University of Arizona College of Law in 2010. Between 2010 and 2012, she worked as an Equal Justice Worker Mental Health Fellow with the Florence Project and represented clients with serious mental illnesses in Eloy, Florence, and Phoenix. She then represented children in dependency proceedings at the Pima County Office of Children's Counsel. In 2013, she returned to the Florence Project and mentored pro bono attorneys representing unaccompanied children in removal proceedings. In August 2014 she became the Supervising Attorney of the Florence Project's Tucson office where she provides free legal services to unaccompanied children both in federal detention facilities and in the community.






Prior Recipients:

The award has been presented to:

1997     Sharon A. Fullmer (posthumously)
1998 Lois T. Kermott (posthumously)
1999 William E. Morris
2000 Dolores H. Milkie
2001 Thomas J. Berning
Edwad E. Coghlan
2002 Sylvia J. Struss
2003 Veronika Fabian
Denise I. Young
2004 Lydia A. Glasson
2005 George H. McKay
2006 Patricia J. Gerrich
2007 Anthony L. Young
2008 Valerie C. Hink
2009 Rachel Wilson
2010 Prof. Andrew Silverman
2011 Pamela M. Bridge
2012 Mary V. Day
2013 Beverly B. Parker
2014 Ellen Sue Katz