President's Award

This award, selected at the discretion of the State Bar President, is given to an individual who has contributed enormous effort toward the furtherance of the president's goals and priorities during the president's term in office.

2014 Recipient

Refo, Patricia

PATRICIA LEE REFO is a partner at Snell & Wilmer L.L.P. in Phoenix, Arizona, where she concentrates her practice in complex commercial litigation.  She has been named as one of The Best Lawyers in America since 2003, and The National Law Journal has named her one of the 50 Most Influential Women Lawyers in America.  
Ms. Refo has been nominated to serve as Chair of the House of Delegates of the American Bar Association commencing in August 2014.  She served as Chair of the American Jury Project of the American Bar Association and is a former Chair of the ABA Section of Litigation. By appointment of Chief Justice William Rehnquist, she served from 2000-2006 as a member of the Advisory Committee on the Federal Rules of Evidence for the United States Judicial Conference, and currently serves on the Arizona Supreme Court’s Committee on Rules of Evidence.  The National Law Journal has named her to its prestigious Editorial Board. She serves in the ABA House of Delegates as the Arizona State Delegate, and chaired the ABA’s Standing Committee on Membership. 

Ms. Refo is a graduate of the University of Michigan and the University of Michigan Law School.


Previous Recipients   

The award has been presented to:

2002     Janet Napolitano
Hon. Robert B. Van Wyck
Hon. Barry C. Schneider
2003 Craig Y. Fujii
Danny R. Ortega, Jr.
Neal Kurn
Barry Wong
Michael R. Rooney
Richard H. Whitney
2004 Art Hailton
Kathleen A. Mayer
Thomas M. Thompson
2005 Colleen A. Lomax, Esq.
Hon. Rebecca A. Albrecht
Paul Bennett
Edward F. Novak
2006 Diane L. Drain
Jenae R. Naumann
Michael L. Walker
Rawuel Centeno-Fequiere
David B. Rosenbaum
2007 Michael L. Gallagher
Michael Allen Berch
2008 Herbert I. Zinn
Mari I. Valenzuela
Sal J. Rivera
Larry J. Cohen
John W. Rogers
William G. Klain
2009 Pamela A. Treadwell-Rubin
Patrick J. McGroder III
Jessica Gifford Funkhouser
2010 Saji Vettiyil
Brigadier General Richard Gregg Maxon
2011 Maret Vessella
Amy K. Rehm
2012 Senator Jon Kyl
Alan P. Bayham, Jr
2013 Hon. Janet Napolitano
Lawrence F. Winthrop