Award of Special Merit

Established in 1988, the Award of Special Merit is  presented by the Board of Governors to members of the State Bar of Arizona who have made significant contributions to the furtherance of public understanding of the legal system, the administration of justice,  and confidence in the legal profession.  

2013 Recipient

MARK E. MELTZER became a specialist with the Court Services Division of the Administrative Office ofMeltzer, Mark the Courts (the "AOC") in 2008. Mark currently serves as AOC staff for the Committee on Limited Jurisdiction Courts (the "LJC"), the Capital Case Oversight Committee, and the Committee on the Impact of Wireless Mobile Technologies and Social Media on Court Proceedings (the "Wireless Committee"). Mark was recently staff for the Committee on Civil Rules of Procedure for Limited Jurisdiction Courts, which drafted the Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure ("JCRCP") that became effective in January 2013. He also served as staff to the Complex Civil Litigation Court Evaluation Committee and the Criminal Rules Videoconference Advisory Committee.

Mark became a member of the State Bar of Arizona in 1976. He began his law career as a deputy district attorney in San Bernardino County, California, and he was a criminal defense attorney following his relocation to Arizona. Mark was in private practice prior to joining the AOC, concentrating in civil litigation.

Mark and his wife Catherine have two children, a daughter in her sophomore year at the Barrett Honors College at Arizona State University, and a son in his senior year at Saguaro High School.

Prior Recipients

The award has been presented to:

1988     Hon. Frank X. Gordon, Jr
1989 Not awarded
1990 Hon. L. Ray Haire
1991 Prof. Charles M. Smith
Hon. Morris K. Udall
1992 Not awarded
1993 Mark I. Harrison
Charles T. Stevens
1994 Hon. Nikki A. Chayet
Patricia A. Sallen
John M. Schlosser
1995 E. Calvin Fuchs II
Duke Nordlinger Stern
1996 Christopher Johns
1997 Michael M. Grant
1998 Not awarded
1999 Hon. Norman S. Fenton
2000 Sen. Marc L. Spitzer
Hon. Thomas A. Zlaket
2001 Timothy M. Hogan
Norman L. Miller
2002 Daniel Cracchiolo
2003 Walter Cheifetz
2004 Hon. Edward E. Davis (posthumously)
2005 Frances L. Johansen
2006 Anthony W. Clark
Susan R. Agrillo
Norma L. Classen
2007 Theodore Campagnolo
Hon. Gary E. Donahoe
2008 Larry C. McVey
Sidney T. Marable (posthumously)
2009 John W. Rogers
2010 Gary R. Stickell
Alex E. Navidad
2011 Hon. Daniel A. Barker
James W. Richardson
2012 Hon. Ann A. Scott Timmer
Stephen Weiss