Award of Appreciation

This award, established in 1989, is presented by the Board of Governors to individuals who are not members of the Bar. It is given in recognition of outstanding service toward the creation of a better public understanding of the legal profession and the administration of justice, the judiciary, or the legislative process.

2014 Recipient 

Sullivan, John

JOHN J. SULLIVAN is a first generation Irish-American born and raised in Chicago.  He says his parents and educational training directed him to a life of service.  In 1970 he found a calling in the newly emerging profession of Law Office Administration.  Starting in Chicago and later in Los Angeles John was privileged to be a part of managing private law firms.  His career began with a small patent law firm as their first office manager, learning from each other.  John says he was fortunate to finish his 34 year career with an International law firm as their Western United States Regional Administrator in charge of four offices.  John was also honored by his peers in 1983-84 as the International President of the Association of Legal Administrators. 
During John’s twelve years of retirement he has continued to be of service on many non-profit Boards.  John says he was deeply honored to be elected to two-three year terms as a Public Member of the Arizona State Bar Board of Governors.  He considers this latter honor as the other book-end to his years of service with lawyers, the legal community and the public. 



Previous Recipients: 

The award has been presented to:

1989     Hon. Rose Mofford
Hon. Barry Goldwater
1990 Sal Quijada
Paul Urbano King
1991 Prof. Paul Bender
Amelia D. Lewis
1992 Hon. Tom Tso
1993 Ken Campbell
1994 Patricia J. Horgan
Karen E. Osborn
Ronald S. Watson
1995 Bruce Hernandez
1996 Paul Rubin
1997 Karen Duffy
Art Rotstein
Joan Tobin
1998 Regina Skouson
1999 Dr. Janet Brown
2000 Maria Hoffman
2001 Helen Cahill
2002 Bill Scott
2003 Donald W. Carson
Myles V. Lynk
2004 Carrie L. Sherman
2005 Emily R. Johnston
2006 Dr. Pearl Tang
2007 Matthew Silverman
2008 Larry C. McVey
Marvin E. Perry
2009 Bennie C. Click
2010 Susan Armstrong
2011 David K. Byers
2012 Alex Jamison
Karen Osborne
2013 William D. Carnegie