Information for New Members

If you were recently admitted in Arizona or registered as an in-house counsel, welcome to Arizona's legal community! You can expect your bar card within two weeks of admission. 

Based on feedback from our newest members, here are some quick tips to get you started.


Critical Dates

While the State Bar will send you electronic reminders about these dates, we suggest your calendar them. All dates, except for the Annual Convention and CLE by the Sea, remain the same each year.

February 1 Annual Membership Fees Due
May Membership Directory Address/Email Confirmations Mailed
June Membership Directory Address/Email Confirmations Due
June 24 - 26, 2015       Annual Convention, Arizona Biltmore, Phoenix
June 30 Deadline for Completing MCLE Educational Year Requirements
July 1 MCLE Educational Year Begins
September 15 MCLE Affidavits Due
October Membership Directory Mailed
December Annual Membership Fees Statement available for online filing

Welcome Orientation

New members and in-house counsel are invited to attend a Welcome Orientation at the State Bar offices in Phoenix or Tucson. Orientations are held in Phoenix and in Tucson. An invitation will be emailed to you approximately two months prior to the program.

The orientation includes an overview of the State Bar's programs and services, how to find answers to your questions on ethics, an explanation of the lawyer regulation system and MCLE requirements, and an introduction to professionalism.

For more information contact Pat Giallanza at 602.340.7226 or patricia.giallanza@staff.azbar.org.


Frequently Asked Questions

What is required of me during my first year of admission?

I don't have a AzBar member account. How do I get one?

What if I cannot remember my AZBar username and/or password?

What can I do to promote myself as an Arizona lawyer?

What State Bar services are most frequently used by new lawyers?

How can I become involved with the bar association?

What is required of me during my first year of admission?

  • Take the Professionalism Course within one year of admission. Some exceptions apply as detailed below. Classes are held in Phoenix and Tucson, but they fill up quickly. Register early by clicking here!

According to Rule 34 (j)(A): A new admittee taking inactive status immediately upon admission is exempt from completing such a course but shall complete one within 12 months of becoming an active member of the state bar.

Rule 34 (j)(B): A new admittee who is an active member but neither resides nor practices law in Arizona is exempt from completing such a course but shall complete one within 12 months of becoming a resident of or commencing the practice of law in Arizona.

  • Pay annual membership fee online no later than February 1.
  • File Mandatory Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) affidavit by September 15 if you were admitted or registered with the Bar between July 1 and December 30 of the educational year. If you were admitted between January 1 and June 30, you have no requirement. You begin on the next cycle (MCLE educational year ends June 30.)

Arizona lawyers have annual CLE reporting requirements. The educational cycle is July 1 to the following June 30.  During that time, each lawyer, unless exempted, must acquire a total of 15 hours of CLE, of which 3 of those hours must be in professional responsibility.

  • Establish an Interest on Lawyers Trust Accounts (IOLTA) account if appropriate. Regularly check the Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education website for updates regarding approved IOLTA banks.
  • Notify the State Bar of any changes in address, phone, fax or email.
  • Regularly check this website for news from the State Bar.

I don't have a AzBar member account. How do I get one?

You can register here.

What if I cannot remember my AZBar username and/or password?
Option 1 - Go to the " Retrieve Username or Password" page.
Option 2 - Fill out the form to the right. This option will only allow you access to CLE tracking and the MCLE affidavit. It will not allow you access to other AZBar features or AZBar.org email.
Option 3 - Call the Member Resource Center at 602.340.7322 during normal business hours.

What can I do to promote myself as an Arizona lawyer?

Keep your State Bar member profile current! When you change your name, land a job,  or change firms, update your contact information on the State Bar website. Remember that you are required by Arizona Supreme Court rule to provide the Bar with your email address.  As the Bar continues to go paperless, email is our primary means of communicating with members.  

From the azbar.org homepage, click on the For Lawyers tab.  In the upper right-hand corner of the For Lawyers page, select Member Login. Then scroll down the left-hand column to Update My Member Profile.  Change your name, address, phone and email address.  

With more than 900,000 visits annually, the website can drive the general public and other members to your biography.

What State Bar services are most used by new lawyers?

Fastcase is a legal research tool provided as a free member benefit. You can search federal law, special courts, and state law in all 50 states. Fastcase also offers free webinars that train you in how to use the tool.  Sole practitioners rely on it heavily, since it can trim thousands of dollars off their bottom line.  

Members can call the Ethics Hotline with questions about the Rules of Professional Conduct. Call the hotline at 602.340.7284.

For Fastcase customer service, please call 866.773.2782 or email support@fastcase.com.

How can I become involved with the bar association?

Join the Young Lawyers Division (YLD)! Lawyers under the age of 37 and with less than five years of experience can join, and the networking opportunities are plentiful!  To learn more about YLD, click here.

Or join a section. With 28 to choose from, there should be at least one practice area that interests you.  Sections provide networking opportunities, free CLE, convention programs, and a pathway to future leadership opportunities in the State Bar.

 

ADVERTISEMENT