Mandatory Professionalism Course
Newly admitted members and registrants are required to attend, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule, the State Bar's professionalism course within the first year of admission or registration, unless exempted.
A new member or registrant taking inactive status immediately upon admission is exempt from completing the course but shall complete one within 12 months of becoming an active member of the State Bar.
A new member or registrant who is an active member but does not reside in Arizona, and does not practice Arizona law is exempt from completing the course but shall complete one within 12 months of becoming a resident of Arizona, or commencing the practice of Arizona law, even if from out of state.
This course, which is a one-time only requirement, is a live event, 4.25 hours duration. The course is offered only in Arizona (Phoenix and Tucson). It is not available online, and no other course substitutes for the program. The CLE credits earned (4.25 total hours, all of which are professional responsibility) may be claimed on the MCLE affidavit in the applicable educational year. The Bar maintains the compliance records regarding this program, and is required to report non-compliant members to the Court, which may result in summary suspension.
The course is offered only four or five times throughout the year, so register for the course as soon as possible to ensure you meet this Court requirement:
1. Click on the CLE tab
2. Click on http://www.legalspan.com/AZBar/catalog.asp
(under the Heading "To Register for CLE Programs")
3. The home page will appear with the tab "Complete Catalog" highlighted.
4. Subject areas of programs and events are listed in two columns.
5. Click on "Professionalism" listed in the right hand side column.
6. Choose the course date you will attend, select "register" and follow the prompts.