CLE Award

This award, selected by the Continuing Legal Education Committee, is presented for outstanding contributions to the State Bar's Continuing Legal Education (CLE) Program.

2013 Recipient

O'Sullivan, Jim


JAMES P. O’SULLIVAN is a Shareholder of the law firm of Tiffany & Bosco, P.A., of Phoenix. He represents primarily closely-held businesses, including law firms and other service professionals. Jim frequently serves as counsel and as consulting counsel to other attorneys in transactions and as an expert witness in business law matters. He has substantial experience with mergers and acquisitions, business growth issues, formation and dissolution of businesses, and resolving disputes among owners. Jim has lectured and published extensively on business law and related ethics issues. He is AV Rated by Martindale-Hubbell, is recognized in the categories of Closely Held Businesses and Family Business Law in the 2012 Best Lawyers in America, and is one of Arizona’s Finest Attorneys. In addition, he is a member of both the American Bar Association Mergers & Acquisitions Committee and the Continuing Legal Education Committee of the State Bar of Arizona. Jim was also one of the drafters of the revised Arizona corporate statutes and is a co-author of Arizona Corporate Practice, published by Thomson Reuters/West. He received his law degree from the University of California, Hastings College of the Law and his B.S. from the University of Southern California.

Prior Recipients

The award has been presented to:

1988 Hon. Robert L. Gottsfield
Thomas A. Zlaket
Kenneth D. Freedman
Michael A. Yarnell
Firm: Lewis and Roca
Firm: Ramaeker & Rondeau
1989 Douglas A. Jordan
Crane McClennan
Barry M. Davis
1990 William R. Jones, Jr.
Ted A. Schmidt
Paul G. Ulrich
1991 Prof. Thomas A. Mauet
Firm: Streich Lang, P.A.
1992 Bruce E. Meyerson
Firm: Robbins & Green, P.A.
1993 Robert B. Fleming
1994 Eugene Zlaket
1995 Nicholas J. Wallwork
1996 Gary L. Stuart
1997 Bruce W. Bowers
Ted A. Schmidt
1998 Jack Barker
Kathy E. Shimpock
1999 Steven Plitt
Daniel J. McAuliffe
2000 Roger A. Schwartz
2001 Mary Mangotich Grier
2002 Larry J. Cohen
2003 Hon. Donn Kessler
2004 Lynda C. Shely
2005 Gary M. Kula
2006 David N. Horowitz
2007 Christina Cabanillas
2008 Craig H. Wisnom
2009 Robert B. Van Wyck
2010 Paul Julien
2011 Ted A. Schmidt
2012 Kathleen A. McCarthy


Continuing Legal Education Award

Annually, at the State Bar of Arizona Convention in June, the State Bar's Continuing Legal Education Program team awards one individual who has made outstanding contributions to the CLE program. Nominate a colleague who you believe is deserving of recognition! The basis upon which the recipient is chosen is as follows:

The recipient, chosen by the State Bar's Continuing Legal Education Committee, is a bar member who has devoted time and expertise to several CLE projects by developing and presenting seminars, writing and editing books, authoring on-line seminars or planning and promoting the general program goals.

Nominations for the Annual State Bar CLE award are accepted through Fri., March 15, 2013 at 5 p.m. A letter, outlining the basis for the nomination, should be submitted to Kim Vandenberg at or by mail at State Bar of Arizona, 4201 N. 24th Street, Suite 100, Phoenix, Arizona 85016-6266.