Outstanding In-House Counsel of the Year Award

Established in 2015, the Outstanding In-House Counsel of the Year Award is presented by the Board of Governors to an Arizona in-house counsel that has made outstanding contributions to the in-house counsel practice and the community at large. The recipient of this award is a respected strategic and innovative leader who exemplifies the following traits: sound and trusted judgment, excellent legal and business acumen, vision, leadership, integrity and ethics.

2017 Recipient

Michael O'Connor

MICHAEL J. O’CONNOR joined SRP in 2011 as Associate General Manager/Chief Legal Executive, responsible for SRP’s Legal, Human Resources, Land, and Risk Management Departments. SRP is the third largest public power entity in the United States with nearly 6,000 employees. It provides power and water to a large portion of the Phoenix metropolitan area. It is well known for its commitment to its customers, community involvement and safety, and has received more J. D. Power Awards than any other utility in the United States.

Prior to joining SRP, Michael was a partner at Jennings, Strouss & Salmon ("JSS"). At JSS, Michael specialized in the areas of utilities, personal injury, products liability, commercial litigation, insurance coverage and professional malpractice defense.

Michael is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, the Federation of Defense and Corporate Counsel and numerous other bar organizations.

Michael is active in several community activities and boards including, St. Joseph’s Hospital Foundation, Advisory Board of Directors of the Rodel Foundation, Habitat for Humanity and Desert Voices' Oral Learning Center.

On a personal note, Michael and his wife Michelle are the proud parents of Matthew (24), and triplets (22) Michael, Alexandra and Samantha.


Previous Recipients: 

The award has been presented to:

2016 Nima Jacobs Kelly
2017 Michael J. O'Connor

Copyright ©2004-2018 State Bar of Arizona