James A. Walsh
Outstanding Jurist Award

Established in 1989, the James A. Walsh Outstanding Jurist Award presented by the Board of Governors  to a judge whose career exemplifies the highest standards of judicial conduct for integrity and independence; who is knowledgeable of the law and faithful to it; who is unswayed by partisan interests, public clamor or fear of criticism; who is patient, dignified and courteous to all who appear before that judge; and who endeavors to improve the administration of justice and public understanding of, and respect for, the role of law in our society. 

2017 Recipient

Patricia NorrisHON. PATRICIA K. NORRIS  received both her undergraduate and J.D. degrees, magna cum laude, from Arizona State University.

Before being appointed to Division One of the Arizona Court of Appeals in 2003, Judge Norris was a partner at Lewis and Roca, Phoenix. During her 25 years with the firm, she focused on civil and commercial litigation and appellate work.

Among her professional activities, Judge Norris has served on various committees of the State Bar of Arizona and as an adjunct professor at the Arizona State University College of Law. She has published articles on civil litigation and is co-editor and contributing author of the Arizona Attorneys’ Fees Manual published by the State Bar of Arizona. She is a frequent lecturer at State Bar and judicial CLE programs.

An active participant in the community, Judge Norris has served as president of the Arizona State University Alumni Association and has been active in other University programs. Judge Norris is a member of the Board of Directors of Arizona Town Hall, and has traveled the state working with Town Hall participants to examine and propose solutions to a variety of critical issues facing Arizona.


Previous Recipients

The award has been presented to:

1989     Hon. James A. Walsh
1990 Hon. William P. Copple
1991 Hon. James Duke Cameron
1992 Hon. Frank X. Gordon, Jr.
1993 Hon. Alice Truman
1994 Hon. Stanley G. Feldman
1995 Hon. Robert B. Buchanan
1996 Hon. James Moeller
1997 Hon. Jack L. Ogg
1998 Hon. Ronald S. Reinstein
1999 Hon. Elizabeth R. Finn
2000 Hon. William C. Canby, Jr.
2001 Hon. Thomas A. Zlaket
2002 Hon. Edward L. Dawson
2003 Hon. Michael Daly Hawkins
2004 Hon. Mary Murphy Schroeder
Hon. George B. Nielsen, Jr.
2005 Hon. Michael D. Ryan
2006 Hon. Stephen M. McNamee
2007 Hon. C. Kimball Rose (posthumously)
2008 Hon. Barry C. Schneider
2009 Chief Justice Ruth V. McGregor
2010 Hon. Barbara Rodriguez Mundell
2011 Hon. John M. Roll (posthumously)
2012 Hon. James M. Marlar
2013 Hon. Robert L. Gottsfield
2014 Chief Justice Rebecca White Berch
2016 Hon. Andrew G. Klein
2017 Hon. Patricia K. Norris



Copyright ©2004-2018 State Bar of Arizona