Hon. John R. Sticht Disability Achievement Award

Established in 2006 (amended language in 2015), the Hon. John R. Sticht Disability Achievement Award is  presented by the Board of Governors to recognize either a person(s) in the legal profession or a group, organization or employer, who or which furthers the goals of access to justice and the full participation for people with disabilities in the legal profession and justice system or a person(s) with disability who has demonstrated exceptional depth of inner strength, courage in the face of adversity, and tenacity of purpose.

2017 Recipient

William Jones

WILLIAM R. JONES, JR. lived his life not only as the consummate gentlemen and professional, but also dedicated to his belief in his "responsibility as a public servant to protect, shape, nourish, and grow the justice system for all citizens."  As Bill once put it, "contributing back to the profession and to society is a sacred obligation that goes hand-in-hand with the privilege of being a member of this honorable profession."
Bill is a founding partner of Jones, Skelton & Hochuli. In his 54-year career, Bill tried more than 250 civil jury cases and helped write many of the statutes and rules that form the cornerstone of Arizona’s legal system, including Rule 26.1, addressing discovery, and A.R.S. § 12-2506, which abolished joint and several liability.
Bill will be greatly missed by everyone at Jones, Skelton & Hochuli, and by his loving family, wife Ellen, children Lisa and Rusty, four grandchildren, and cherished pup Cooper.

Previous Recipients

The award has been presented to:

2006     Arizona Center for Disability Law
Office of the Arizona Attorney General
2007 Office of the Pima County Attorney
2008 University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law
Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law at Arizona State University
2009 Mesch Clark & Rothschild PC (Tucson)
Quarles & Brady, LLP (Phoenix
2010 Pima County Public Defender's Office
2011 Industrial Commission of Arizona
2012 Arizona Center for Disability Law
2013 Phoenix School of Law
2014 Attorney General's Office
2015 City of Peoria
2016 Edward L. Myers III
2017 William R. Jones, Jr.

Copyright ©2004-2018 State Bar of Arizona