Annual State Bar Awards

Nominate a Colleague for Annual State Bar Awards: Here's your chance to see that deserving colleagues are recognized for their contributions to the legal profession. Nominations for the 2017 State Bar awards are now being accepted through March 22, 2017 at 5 p.m. 

Below is a list of the awards, the day they will be presented, a description of each and a list of previous recipients by year.  New this year is a State Bar of Arizona Award’s Nomination form, click here.  Please use this form for each nomination along with any supporting nominations.


To be presented at the State Bar Convention on Wednesday, June 14, 2017.

Hon. John R. Sticht Disability Achievement Award: To recognize either a person(s) in the legal profession or a group, organization or employer, who or which furthers the goals of access to justice and the full participation for people with disabilities in the legal profession and justice system or a person(s) with disability who has demonstrated exceptional depth of inner strength, courage in the face of adversity, and tenacity of purpose. (Award established in 2006.) Previous Recipients

Michael C. Cudahy Criminal Justice Award:  Awarded to that criminal law prosecutor who during his or her career has worked tirelessly to advance the principles of criminal justice by representing the public's interest with integrity, fairness, tenacity, creativity, brilliance and, above all, professionalism. (Award established 3/17/06) Previous Recipients

Outstanding In-House Counsel of the Year Award: To be presented to an Arizona in-house counsel that has made outstanding contributions to the in-house counsel practice and the community at large. The recipient of this award is a respected strategic and innovative leader who exemplifies the following traits: sound and trusted judgment, excellent legal and business acumen, vision, leadership, integrity and ethics. (Award established October 2015)

Sharon A. Fullmer Legal Aid Attorney of the Year Award:  Awarded to that legal services lawyer or lawyers in Arizona whose service to low-income people encompasses both aggressive advocacy on behalf of individuals in extreme need and addresses systemic issues affecting significant numbers of low-income people.  (Award established in 1997) Previous Recipients

Tom Karas Criminal Justice Award Awarded to that criminal defense practitioner who during his or her career has worked tirelessly to advance the principles of criminal justice by representing clients or the public with integrity, fairness, tenacity, creativity, brilliance and, above all, professionalism.  (Award established 2004; amended language 3/17/06) Previous Recipients

To be presented at the State Bar Convention Annual Luncheon on Friday, June 17, 2017.

Award of Appreciation:  Awarded to that individual or those individuals who are not members of the Bar in recognition of outstanding service toward the creation of a better public understanding of the legal profession and the administration of justice, the judiciary or the legislative process.  (Award established in 1989) Previous Recipients

Award of Special Merit:  Awarded to that member or those members of the State Bar of Arizona who have made significant contributions to the furtherance of public understanding of the legal system, the administration of justice and confidence in the legal profession. (Award established in 1988) Previous Recipients

Diversity and Inclusion Leadership Award: To be presented to an attorney, judge, employer, organization or bar association that significantly advances diversity and inclusion in the Arizona legal community through creative, strategic, or innovative efforts. (Award established October 2015)

James A. Walsh Outstanding Jurist Award:  Awarded to that judge whose career exemplifies the highest standards of judicial conduct for integrity and independence; who is knowledgeable of the law and faithful to it; who is unswayed by partisan interests, public clamor or fear of criticism; who is patient, dignified and courteous to all who appear before him or her; and who endeavors to improve the administration of justice and public understanding of, and respect for, the role of law in our society.  (Award established in 1989) Previous Recipients

Member of the Year Award:  Awarded to that attorney or those attorneys who have rendered extraordinary contributions to the programs and activities of the State Bar in the prior year.  Hundreds, even thousands, of the Bar's members contribute their time and talent to the work of the Bar, but this award is limited to those whose contributions are exceptional.  (Award established in 1991) Previous Recipients


2017 Convention Sponsors



peak forensics 

 Ruby Receptionists (1)






ASU - Sandra Day O Connor




Legal Technology Solutions


Copyright ©2004-2017 State Bar of Arizona