Are you interested in running for the Board of Governors?  Here is some basic information about the election process and a link to the candidate package for 2016. 

Nineteen members of the Board of Governors are Active Members in good standing with the State Bar designated as "elected members." Eighteen of them are elected in their districts; one is president of the Young Lawyers Division.

The state is divided into eight bar districts and the number of Governors per district is determined by Rule 32(e) Ariz.R.S.Ct. Elected members serve a three-year term.

Bar District Location # of Governors # of Openings in 2016 
1 Mohave, Navajo, Coconino and Apache Counties           1 1
2 Yavapai County 1 0
3 Gila, Graham and Greenlee Counties 1 1
4 Cochise County 1 1
5 Pima and Santa Cruz Counties 3 3
6 Maricopa County 9 0
7 La Paz and Yuma Counties 1 1
8 Pinal County 1 0

Candidates must be in good standing with the State Bar of Arizona who have been admitted to practice law before the Arizona Supreme Court for at least five years.  

Candidates must submit the following to be eligible to run for election:

  • Nominating petition signed by at least five active members. Each candidate named in a petition and all members signing such petition shall have their principal place of business in the district the candidate is nominated to represent
  • Brief biographical sketch or candidate's statement (125 words maximum)
  • Answers to questions posed to all candidates (200 words maximum)
  • Discipline disclosure statement
  • High-resolution digital photograph (300 dpi, jpg format)


Copyright ©2004-2016 State Bar of Arizona