Board of Governors

The State Bar of Arizona Board of Governors oversees the policy making and operation of the organization. The Board is comprised of 30 people: four non-attorney, public members appointed by the Board; three at-large members appointed by the Arizona Supreme Court; 19 attorney members elected by fellow Bar members in their district; and four ex-officio members (immediate past president and the deans of Arizona's three law schools).

A schedule of meetings, agenda, highlights, and minutes of past meetings are below:

Schedule of Meetings
Board Agenda
Board Highlights
Board Minutes

 

President

Alex Vakula 2017

Alex B. Vakula
The Vakula Law Firm PLC
203 East Union Street
Prescott, AZ 86303-3813
Phone: 928.445.3500
Fax: 928.442.3600
alex.vakula@azbar.org

President-Elect

Jeff Willis 2013

Jeffrey Willis
Snell & Wilmer LLP
One South Church Avenue, Suite 1500
Tucson, AZ 85701-1630
Phone: 520.882.1231
Fax: 520.884.1294
jwillis@swlaw.com

Vice President

Brian Furuya 2014 

Brian Y. Furuya
Coconino County Attorney's Office
110 Cherry Avenue
Flagstaff, AZ 86001-4627
Phone: 928.679.8200
Fax: 928.679.8201
bfuruya@coconino.az.gov

Secretary-Treasurer

Lori Higuera

Lori A. Higuera
Freeport McMoRan, Inc.
333 North Central Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85004-2121
lori_higuera@fmi.com

Young Lawyer Division President

Danny Mazza 2017

Daniel J. Mazza
Mazza Law Center PLC
7231 East Princess Blvd., Suite 202
Scottsdale, AZ 85255-9670
Phone: 602-900-1854
Fax: 602-900-1884
danny@mazzalawcenter.com

District 3 (Gila, Graham, Greenlee Counties)

Hector Figueroa 2016

Hector Figueroa
Town Attorney
Town of Payson
303 North Beeline Highway
Payson, AZ 85541-4485
Phone: 928.472.5020
Fax: 928.474.8472
hfigueroa@paysonaz.gov

District 4 (Cochise County)

 Patrick Greene

Patrick K. Greene
Patrick K Greene Attorney at Law
410 East Toughnut Street
P.O. Box 1609
Tombstone, AZ 85638-1609
Phone: 520.457.3430
Fax: 520.457.9001
pkgreenelaw@gmail.com

District 5 (Pima, Santa Cruz Counties)

Kenney Hegland 2016

Kenney  F. Hegland
James E. Rogers College of Law
University of Arizona
P.O. Box 210176
Tucson, AZ 85721-0176
Phone: 520.325.5861
Fax: 602.621.9140
hegland@law.arizona.edu

Dee-Dee Samet 2016

Dee-Dee Samet
Dee-Dee Samet PC
717 North 6th Avenue
Tucson, AZ 85705-8304
Phone: 520.624.8595
Fax: 520.623.4560
Dee-Dee.Samet@azbar.org

District 6 (Maricopa County)

 Tyler Carrell 2017

Tyler J. Carrell
Gallagher & Kennedy PA
2575 East Camelback Road, Suite 1100
Phoenix, AZ 85016-9254
Phone: 602.530.8029
Fax:
tyler.carrell@gknet.com

David Engelman 2017

David Wm. Engelman
Engelman Berger PC
3636 North Central Avenue, Suite 700
Phoenix, AZ 85012-1936
Phone: 602.271.9090
Fax:
dwe@eblawyers.com

Robert McWhirter 2017

Robert J. McWhirter
The Law Offices of Robert J. McWhirter
812 North 2nd Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85003-1404
Phone: 480.980.0696
Fax:
robert.mcwhirter@robertjmcwhirter.com

 

Pouria Paknejad 2017

Pouria Paknejad
Smith Paknejad PLC
2390 East Camelback Road, Suite 400
Phoenix, AZ 85016-3479
Phone: 602.888.9900
Fax: 888.552.8529
paknejad@phxlawfirm.com

Jennifer Rebholz 2014

Jennifer R. Rebholz
Choate & Seletos
2400 West Dunlap Avenue, Suite 305
Phoenix, AZ 85021-2822
Phone: 602.395.2025
Fax: 602.870.0775
jennifer.rebholz@farmersinsurance.com

Sam Saks 2017

Samuel Saks
Smith Paknejad PLC
11333 North Scottsdale Road, Suite 200
Scottsdale, AZ 85254-5192
Phone: 480.428.0529
Fax: 888.552.8529
saks@phxlawfirm.com
Jessica Sanchez

Jessica S. Sanchez
Tempe Tri-District Legal Counsel
Tempe Union High School District
500 West Guadalupe Road
Tempe, AZ 85283-3599
Phone: 480.345.3746
jssanchez@tuhsd.k12.az.us

Sara Siesco 2017

Sara A. Siesco
Ely Bettini Ulman Rosenblatt & Ozer
3200 North Central Avenue, Suite 1930
Phoenix, AZ 85012-2418
Phone: 602.230.2144
Fax:
sarasiesco@eburlaw.com

 

Benjamin Taylor 2017

Benjamin Taylor
Attorney at Law
2600 North 44th Street, Suite B101
Phoenix, AZ 85008-1555
Phone: 602.403.0212
Fax:
benjamin@benjamintaylorlaw.com

District 7 (La Paz and Yuma Counties)

Jimmie Smith 2011

Jimmie Dee Smith
Attorney at Law
221 South Second Avenue
Yuma, AZ 85364-2265
Phone: 928.783.7809
Fax: 928.783.7800
jimmiedeesmith@azbar.org

District 8 (Pinal County)

Denis Fitzgibbons 2015

Denis Fitzgibbons
Fitzgibbons Law Offices PLC
1115 East Cottonwood Lane, Suite 150
PO Box 11208
Casa Grande, AZ 85130-0148
Phone: 520.426.3824
Fax: 520.426.9355
denis@fitzgibbonslaw.com

Ex-Officio Members

Lisa Loo 2016

Lisa Loo
Vice President for Legal Affairs & Deputy General Counsel
Arizona State University
P.O. Box 877405
Tempe, AZ 85287-7405
Phone: 480.965.4550
Fax: 480.965.0984
LisaLooSBA@asu.edu

 Penny Willrich 2017 (1)

Penny Willrich
Dean, Arizona Summit Law School
One North Central Avenue, 13th Floor
Phoenix, Arizona 85004
Phone: 602.682.6814
Fax: 602.682.6998
pwillrich@AZSummitLaw.edu

Marc Miller 2017 

Marc L. Miller
Dean, James E. Rogers College of Law
University of Arizona
P.O. Box 210176
Tucson, AZ 85721-0176
Phone: 520.621.1498
Fax: 520.626.2050
Marc.Miller@law.arizona.edu

Doug Sylvester

Douglas J. Sylvester
Dean, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
Arizona State University
P.O. Box 877906
Tempe, AZ 85287-7906
Phone: 480.965.6188
Fax: 480.965.6521
Douglas.Sylvester@asu.edu

Public Members

Jason Cobb 2017

Jason Cobb
Compass Fiduciary Group, LLC
2001 East Campbell Avenue, Suite 107
Phoenix, AZ 85016-5573
Phone: 602.595.1811
Fax: 866.441.68761
jcobb@compassfidgroup.com

John Gordon 2016

John W. Gordon
1363 Winfield Circle
Prescott, AZ 86301-5681
Phone: 928.460.1203
jwgordon33@gmail.com

Anna Thomasson 2015

Anna C. Thomasson
Consultant
8300 North 53rd Street
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone: 602.321.2434
annathomasson2015@gmail.com

At-Large Members

Dave Byers 2016

David K. Byers
Administrative Director
Administrative Office of the Courts
1501 West Washington Street, Suite 411
Phoenix, AZ 85007-3329
Phone: 602.452.3307
Fax: 602.452.3484
dbyers@courts.az.gov
Paul Senseman 2014 Paul Senseman
Policy Development Group
3636 North Central Avenue, Suite 590
Phoenix, AZ 85012
Phone: 602.274.4244
Fax: 602.274.8339
psenseman@policydevelopmentgroup.com



Copyright ©2004-2017 State Bar of Arizona